Back to All Events

Lunch & Lit with Joshilyn Jackson

NEVER HAVE I EVER by New York Times bestselling author Joshilyn Jackson (to be published July 30) is an unputdownable novel of psychological suspense in the vein of Big Little Lies or The Wife Between Us. Author Lee Child raves, “this feels like the book Jackson was born to write."

You may know Joshilyn Jackson—“an admired writer who deserves to be a household name” (Kirkus Reviews)—as the author of eight novels, including gods in Alabama and The Almost Sisters. NEVER HAVE I EVER is Joshilyn Jackson as you’ve never read her before and marks an exciting new direction for the author. In her first flat-out thriller, a dark and deliciously addictive tale of domestic suspense, Jackson displays her masterful talents for crafting unforgettable characters and surprising twists. In NEVER HAVE I EVER, a group of women play a harmless drinking game that escalates into a war of dark pasts. Jackson keep readers on edge with the chilling premise – what if someone knew your worst secret and was ready to use it against you?   

Amy Whey is proud of her ordinary life and the simple pleasures that come with it—teaching diving lessons, baking cookies for new neighbors, helping her best friend, Charlotte, run their local book club. Her greatest joy is her family: her devoted professor husband, her spirited fifteen-year-old stepdaughter, her adorable infant son. And, of course, the steadfast and supportive Charlotte. But Amy’s sweet, uncomplicated life begins to unravel when the mysterious and alluring Angelica Roux arrives on her doorstep one book club night.

Sultry and magnetic, Roux beguiles the group with her feral charm. She keeps the wine flowing and lures them into a game of spilling secrets. Everyone thinks it’s naughty, harmless fun. Only Amy knows better. Something wicked has come her way—a she-devil in a pricey red sports car who seems to know the terrible truth about who she is and what she once did. When they’re alone, Roux tells her that if she doesn’t give her what she asks for, what she deserves, she’s going to make Amy pay for her sins. One way or another.

To protect herself and her family and save the life she’s built, Amy must beat the devil at her own clever game, matching wits with Roux in an escalating war of hidden pasts and unearthed secrets. Amy knows the consequences if she can’t beat Roux. What terrifies her is everything she could lose if she wins.

A diabolically entertaining tale of betrayal, deception, temptation, and love filled with dark twists leavened by Joshilyn Jackson’s trademark humor, NEVER HAVE I EVER explores what happens when the transgressions of our past come back with a vengeance.

Earlier Event: August 17
Story Time
Later Event: August 19
Page Pairings