The Newbery Award's Birthday

On this day in 1922, the American Library Association (ALA) awarded the very first Newbery Medal to Hendrik Willem van Loon for The Story of Mankind.  The Newbery Medal is named for John Newbery, who is considered to be the father of children's literature, and it is still awarded annually for the best children's book of the year.

This year's Newbery Winner is a book called Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Peña.  De la Peña is the first Hispanic author to receive the Newbery Medal.