Back to All Events

Page Pairings

We're getting together with our friends at The Chocolate Moose to organize a book-inspired wine tasting (because The Chocolate Moose also has a stellar wine list!) where the qualities of each wine get paired with books that share the same spirit. Your ticket to the tasting includes your choice of one of the featured books. Bottles of wine will be for sale at great prices too. It’s a great date, or a perfect girls night out.

Joining us this evening will be Charlotte writer (and attorney) Phillip E. Lewis with The Barrowfields, a debut novel the New York Times called “a work of abundant talent.” Set in a small Appalachian town, against the tensions between father and son, The Barrowfields details the ways dark family legacies can loom large. Beautifully written and classically told, this book will appeal to fans of Ron Rash, Walker Percy, and The Great Santini.  

Bestselling author Megan Miranda will also join us, and her smart, snappy, can’t-wait-for-this-to-be-a-movie thriller, The Perfect Stranger. If you liked Girl On A Train (unreliable narrators) or Gone Girl (totally unreliable), you’ll love this story of Leah Stevens, a high school teacher with a past, and her mysterious, now missing, friend Emmy Grey. The twists and turns happen at breakneck speed, and the writing will keep you on the edge of your seat.

We’ll also host local authors Kelly Durham and Kathryn Smith with their historical noir, Shirley Temple Is Missing. Lead by a fictional version of FDR’s personal secretary Missy LeHand (the subject of Smith’s wonderful biography, The Gatekeeper) and including characters based on Shirley Temple, J. Edgar Hoover, studio head Daryl F. Zanuck, and FDR himself, this mystery earned raves from Kirkus, calling it a “smoothly flowing story...loaded with insider-y moviemaking details, and it even offers a few peeks into the personal side of the White House.” We’re hoping it’s the start of a series!

Purchase
Name
Email Address
Earlier Event: April 21
Storytime
Later Event: April 28
Indie Bookstore Day